top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJ. C. Horton

The Reason Why I Write

Hello everyone, I hope you had an amazing holiday and are enjoying your vacation if your lucky enough to get one. This Christmas was a crazy one for me and my family, and it got me thinking about why I write. Why do I put myself through this craziness and stress?



Writing is a release for me. I put in words what I can't explain to myself. I need a physical outlet to let out my feelings and to help me see the problem clearly and then to eventually see the solution.


An example of this is actually in my book "Everlasting" and if you have read it you will understand. When I was in high school my mom and brother were in a car accident. My elderly aunt picked me and told me that we needed to go to the ER right then and she didn't know how my family was doing. I was terrified driving that five minutes to the hospital. Thankfully, my family was fine and barely had any damage done to them but those thoughts wouldn't leave my mind. Luckily, Tessa's life was turmoil at the time as well, and I was able to put my feelings nd experiences down on paper. It made a world of difference to see it in writing.


And as for the thing that got me thinking about all of this. My little girl got her poor finger shut in the door the day after Christmas. It was pretty bad and needed an ER visit and three stitches. It was probably the hardest thing I have ever gone through seeing my little girl in so much pain. While I don't have a character right now with a one year old that I can use this story on, I feel better just putting this down on paper.


Thank you all once again for listening to my ramblings. I hope this put you in the mood to write or at the very least to have some crazy experiences of your own. much when it comes to your writing. We want to hear about that amazing first date that you were so sad didn't end in a first kiss. We want to know about the time you broke your arm, and it hurt so bad you cried. These things make you a better writer because you lived them.


Thank you all once again for listening to my ramblings. I hope this put you in the mood to write, or at the very least, to have some crazy experiences of your own.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page