top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJ. C. Horton

The Book That Changed My Life

We've all had hard times, but it's what we choose to do to get through those hard times that make us into better people. The hard time I'm going to talk to you about today is nothing compared to what I've experienced since or what others might have experienced, but at the time it sure felt like it was the end of the world. I'm sure we all remember those teenage days.


Anyway, I was having a hard time at school. I was in high school and true friends were a hard thing to come by those days, so I turned to books. At first it was Twilight, well actually, New Moon was the one I read over and over again. I related to the lonely Bella. And then I found Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead.


As I read this amazing book I realized something: I identified more with the broken and terrified Lissa who hurt herself than the strong Rose I knew I once was. Rose is so protective, the mother figure if you will, and I missed being like her. I missed having that reckless energy that made a difference once when someone was in trouble. Of course, my trouble was people getting bullied not attacked by vampires, but the sentiment was the same.


As I kept reading the series and saw all the awful things Rose went through, I loved that she stayed strong no matter what. It was truly inspiring. As I read her adventures, I realized all the things I needed to do different to be the person I wanted to be. And the thing that made all the difference was this one quote:


“You said you were a victim. That's why...that's why ultimately, you and I aren't matched for each other. In spite of everything that's happened, I've never though of myself that way. Being a victim means you're powerless. That you won't take action. Always...always I've done something to fight for myself...for others. No matter what.” --Richelle Mead in the Last Sacrifice.


These are words to live by. No matter what you are not a victim! Stay strong people and never let anything break you. And most importantly, read these books! They will change your lives for the better. I still pick them up when I've had a hard day.


I'd like to say one more thing before I go. Thank you, Richelle Mead. Your books truly made a difference in my life, and I am grateful. If I can touch one person with my writing as much as you have touched me with yours, I will die happy. You have a Vampire Academy fan for life.


29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page