top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJ. C. Horton

Starting Them Young

Updated: Dec 5, 2018

As you all may know by now, I have a young daughter. Reading to her in my favorite part of them day.

I'm not here to lecture you all on reading to your children. I'm sure you all know the benefits by now, but I did want to say some things that I have learned from reading to my daughter.


Talking


At first me and my husband only ever read to my daughter before bed when she was to tired to really pa attention. A few months ago, I started reading to her for one hour every day after breakfast. Before this, the only words my daughter new was "cat" and "dad" but now she is talking more than every before. It's really amazing to see her grow.


Understand


My favorite thing to do with my daughter is ask her to find characters on the pages. Her favorite is Olaf from "Frozen". She can find him on every page. Now that Christmas is around the corner she knows who Santa is and what reindeer are. This has also helped her find things around the house when I ask for something specific.


Thank you all for letting me share this with you. Kids learning to love reading at an early age is very important to me. It helps them so much later in life. Especially, when they have to read boring books in high school! Don't we all want our kids to be the ones who already read "Pride and Prejudice" before they were even assigned to?

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page