top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJ. C. Horton

My Interview With Melissa Rose Gardiner

Melissa is an up and coming Young Adult author. She doesn't have a book out yet but I am so excited to see what she comes up with. Let's show her some support!

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?


After reading over 200 YA books in the past three years I discovered I wanted to write my own YA book.


What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?


Since I don’t like reading short stories, so I don’t suspect I will ever write one. I like story with depth, with adequate build, and character development. With short stories of 100 pages or less there is not enough time for details such as these. I also am a stickler for editing before an editor would ever view my work and during the writing process.


When did you write your first book and how old were you?


Currently, the book I am writing is my first book.


What do you like to do when you're not writing?


When I am not writing I like to read, paint landscapes, and play tennis when it is the right season.


What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?


As I was doing research on the original stories for my fairytale retelling book series, I could see how vastly different the stories were from their Disney counterparts.


How many books have you written? Which is your favorite?


Currently, my Alice in Wonderland retelling is my first novel, but I am enthused about its outcome.


Do you have any suggestions to help others become better writers?


Make sure you set aside the time you need each day for yourself in a quiet atmosphere. Also, get involved in a writing group. Being in one has helped me immensely as it helps with your writing goals. I am currently involved in a writing group where they write for two hours with three 5-minute breaks. The writers don’t talk about their work, but they write for the time limit together.


What do you think makes a good story?


What makes a good story is your heart and passion on the subject matter. If you are not passionate about it then it will be just dribble on pages.


As a child, what did you want to do when you grew up?


I actually am doing what I wanted to be as child and that is a teacher, although my passion has changed to being an author and solely being that, I am still proud of what I do.


How did you come up with the idea for your newest book?


I had read clean fairytale fiction by Melanie Dickerson and a fairytale mixed genre retelling, so I thought why not make my own mixed genre fairytale retelling which came to me by inspiration of reading books of this nature.



Thank you so much, Melissa. I can't express how excited I am to read your book. Fairytales are one of my favorite things to read, and I can't wait to see what you have come up with.


This is Melissa's Facebook page. Make sure you like it so you don't miss out.

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page