top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJ. C. Horton

My Interview With Me

Since I have asked these questions to two other people, I think it is only fair to answer them myself.



When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?


I started writing when I was in the fourth grade, and it was something to pass the time, but it wasn't until the either grade that I truly found passion for writing. A simple writing exercise turned into a full four hundred page novel, that still needs an ending.


What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?


I like to honor people and things that I like by putting them into my books. My favorite book series is "Vampire Academy" by Richelle Mead, so I made that Tessa's favorite book in Everlasting. My favorite teacher from high school was the choir teacher, Mrs. Hansen, so I decided to make her Tessa's choir teacher. I just want them to know that what they have done as truly made an impact on my life.


When did you write your first book and how old were you?


The first novel I ever wrote from beginning to end was "Everlasting". I was seventeen when I started, and I finished writing it exactly one year later.


What do you like to do when you're not writing?


People who have toddlers don't get hobbies, I'm sure a lot of you know that. Dancing was my first love before I met my first love, and ever since my daughter was born, I have found an interested for photography.


What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?


I have learned that no matter what you are going to offend someone. It can be the most innocent sentence in the world, and someone will still be upset by it. The best thing you can do is ignore everyone else and just wright for yourself. As long as you are happy with what you're writing nothing else matters.


How many books have you written? Which is your favorite?


I have a tendency to start things and never finish them. It's a habit I really need to change. I have started twelve books and have written between thirty to three hundred pages in each book ,but none of them have an ending yet. I have finished writing two books, both of which are in the "Eternal Series".


Do you have any suggestions to help others become better writers?


Do not fall into the trap that I have time and time again. Start a book and finish it before you start another book! Even when you come to a hard spot, and you don't know where to go from there, keep writing it. It's better to write a scene using the same characters you're already working with than to start over. With every paragraph your characters will teach you something new, and you will eventually be able to move passed the hard part.


What do you think makes a good story?


You can truly tell when an author loves his/her book and is writing with passion. It makes all the difference in the world to love what your doing. But more importantly, you need to love your characters. It needs to tear you apart when something bad happens to them because you know them personally. You know every thing about them. A good story has characters that the reader can connect to.


As a child, what did you want to do when you grew up?


I always wanted to own a dance studio growing up.


How did you come up with the idea for "Everlasting"?


I all started with two names. Tessara Knox, originally Tessara Gray, and Everleigh Nite. I knew I wanted these girls to have a connection, but it didn't know what kind of connection I wanted them to have. Slowly, piece by piece, it all fell together.


Thank you all so much for reading this, and I hope you leaned something about me that you didn't know before. And as always, I hope this put you in the mood to read or pick up a good book.



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page