top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJ. C. Horton

My Interview With Katherine Hemmer

I am so honored to have this amazing new author joining me for my blog today. She is the author of The Queen's Return, a Science Fiction/Fantasy novel.

Follow Elianna on her journey as she finds out she has The Great Gift and is attacked by another power.

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?


I was really inspired by my 10th grade English teacher to become an editor. It wasn't until I took a creative writing class my Junior year that I thought I would want to be a writer, or both.


What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?


I do a few things that I think can be considered out of the norm. First, I always am listening to a Youtube video or have a movie on while I'm writing. Second, I don't share my writing prior to being published. I don't have betas or a critique partner, I don't share with my family. It just goes to my editor and then she gives me the feedback I need. Lastly, I have my book cover designed before the book is finished. It helps inspire me to keep writing and acts as a visual reminder of the story.


When did you write your first book and how old were you?


I was first published in 2008 (16 years old) when my high school class wrote a book about the people of our little town, Mooresville. I self published my first book this year. I'm 26.


What do you like to do when you're not writing?


I have a full time job, a photography business, and a Youtube channel. I also like spending time with my husband, Jon, and pets. I love reading, crafting, and spending time with family.


What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?


It takes a lot of time. It's a very intense process. I wasn't able to focus on anything other than my book when it came to the editing and revisions. I also learned a lot about my style of writing and was surprised to find that character building is one of my favorite parts.


How many books have you written? Which is your favorite?


One! The Queen's Return! I've started on book two, but it's not finished yet!


Do you have any suggestions to help others become better writers?


Be consistent. Set a schedule and stick to it. Learn what mistakes you make when writing and try to do better. Write a story you love. :)


What do you think makes a good story?


I read a lot of different genres, but the common factor in all of them is that they draw emotion. I need to feel emotionally connected to a story and it's characters for me to like it.


As a child, what did you want to do when you grew up?


I wanted to be a math teacher. :) I love algebra. I know, weird right?


How did you come up with the idea for The Queen's Return?


I wrote a chapter for a creative writing class I took in college and that inspired me to write this! It has evolved so much you wouldn't know the two are connected by the story line, but Elianna's garden and patio is present in both TQR and that class assignment. Many other things inspired pieces of TQR as well, from every day activities like drinking tea to some of the major events that I can't tell you about. NO SPOILERS!


Thank you so much, Katherine. Every time I interview a new author I learn something new. And I am so excited to read your new book!

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page