top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJ. C. Horton

My Interview With Janet Ralley

Janet Ralley is the writer of "Falling for a Duke" a wonderful Cinderella story. I was first attracted to this book because I love anything to do with fairytales, and I found something truly spectacular when I opened the first page. Thank you so much, Janet for doing this interview with me.

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?


I’ll be honest, I didn’t. I never had any plans to write a book. When I was at school, we had to write a children’s book, and even though I got a glowing report, I hated it.

However, it opened something up in my brain. Sometime later this story turned up and I spent around 15 years ignoring it. Then one day I said to myself, why not? What’s the worst that can happen? So, I did, and the Persecuting series began. I haven’t looked back since.


What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

Writing tends to be early mornings and evenings as it relaxes me.

I love all my characters, and a bit of me tends to slip into the books. I can slip into their minds easily, which gives me a better insight into how they might react. I also study other people and add in any interesting quirks, or mannerisms, I like. So, be careful what you do or say around me. I also hate being interrupted when I write, especially if I’m at the last editing stage before my editor becomes involved.


Writing tends to be early mornings and evenings as it relaxes me.


When did you write your first book and how old were you?


I started writing in 2017, so I was 44 when I released Persecuting Abi, earlier this year.


What do you like to do when you're not writing?


I work long shifts as a Veterinary nurse, so I have little time for anything else. I’m an avid reader and stopped reading when I go to bed, as I end up reading until the early hours of the morning. My spare time is spent with my Netherland Dwarf rabbits. I’ve three at the moment, and occasionally breed them. Add in the other crafts I do. Photography, walking and wildlife watching, sewing, Christmas decorations, I have even less spare time.


What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?


The amount of challenging work that goes into each book. Writing the story is the easy bit. Add in the cover design, although I’ve now discovered an excellent cover designer who has helped with some covers, and marketing, and you are kept busy. Then you have the never-ending editing, plot checking and writing the blurb. However, the moment you see your book live on Amazon and the paperback in your hands, makes the hard work worth it. At the end of the day, you can’t bet the feeling when you can say, ‘I did that’.


How many books have you written? Which is your favorite?


I have three books live at the moment. The two Persecuting books are dark psychological romance thrillers set in LA, and I love the two main characters in them. There are three more at various editing stages which I hope to have out over the next two years. My favourite has to be ‘Falling for a Duke’, a modern-day Scottish romance. It’s based around Cinderella, which is my favourite story, but has a bit of Snow White’s wicked mother added to the mix. It’s not the light version either but contains darker elements. This book as also taken off very quickly with my readers.

My current work-in-progress is the next book in this series. They will be standalones, but all set in Scotland. ‘Falling for Katie’, will be the first book released in 2019. The other book I’m working on is ‘The Legend of Tiarne’. Another romance, but this time a shifter romance which is out of my comfort zone. I hope to release next year.

I am also working on a detective series, with a background romance, set in Devon.


Do you have any suggestions to help others become better writers?

The main thing is to remember that getting the book published is the easier part. Once the comments begin to come back be prepared for anything. Not everyone will like it and will criticise parts of your book. Don’t get down-hearted, and check what they have said. Some of my reviews have pointed out several mistakes I’ve had to sort.

And if sales are slow, keep going. There is so much competition now for new authors you will get lost amongst them. One book may not sell, but once you have a few out, things have a habit of picking up.


What do you think makes a good story?

Passion. If the author feels nothing as they write what they hope will be the next best-seller, the readers won’t pick up on the missing emotion. I’ve spent time crying so much, I haven’t been able to read the words. Other times I’ve laughed so hard I’ve had to stop to recover. Make your readers want to continue turning the pages.

Plot. Needs to be strong. I’ve deleted thousands of words because the plot sucked.

Research. Readers will pick up if you haven’t done your research. One wrong piece of information, picked up by an expert in that field, could be enough to sink your book.


As a child, what did you want to do when you grew up?

A pharmacist and to be happy. Not an author.


How did you come up with the idea for Falling for a Duke?

This book had a few titles before I settled on ‘Falling for a Duke’. The Duke’s Masked Lass, The Duke’s Husky Sitter, to name a couple. As the story developed and changed, they became redundant. When ‘Falling for a Duke’ popped into my mind, it stuck. It seemed perfect.

I became worried when I found another book with the same name, but that happens. The story is completely different. The doubts set in when I set the manuscript off for editing, but after speaking with my editor she agreed the title needed to stay. It was perfect.

The Romancing in Scotland series are standalone books, but all will begin with Falling for..’.


Thank you so much , Janet, for your time. I learned so much from you, and I really my readers will as well. Everyone, go read this amazing women's books!

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page