top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJ. C. Horton

My Interview With Charlotte Blackwell

Updated: Dec 5, 2018

Hi everyone! I'm so excited to announce that the writer of the Embrace Series was kind enough to do an interview with me! There is nothing more exciting than seeing into the mind of an amazing author.


When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?


I think I always wanted to be a writer, I just never thought it was possible. I wasn't much of a reader till my adult years, I wanted to create the stories not read them. Now I realize it all goes together. As far back as I can remember I was writing really terrible song lyrics, writing my feelings and more. Then finally one day I said to myself, why can't I?


What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?


Every Character I create has some resemblance to someone I know. It could be a name, a character trait, a look. They all resemble someone. So if I know you, be nice, you never know when you will end up in a book. I also can't write in public, I get too distracted people watching, I need to be by myself, usually locked in my bedroom, where I have a mini "office" set up in the corner.


When did you write your first book and how old were you?


I wrote my first book (Immortal Embrace) in 2010. I was Thirty four. I wrote it in a coil note book and when I finished my husband bought me my first lap top.


What do you like to do when you're not writing?


I have a crazy life as many of us parents do. I'm commonly found driving my kids to activities, volunteering or relaxing with a book or good movie. Just this past year I was diagnosed with an auto immune disease and that has slowed me down a lot. Now I try to write when ever I get a spurt of energy.


What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?


It's a lot more work than you could ever expect. Hours upon hours of planning, writing, creating. Then editing over and over again, cover design and marketing. But through all that, the best feeling in the world is seeing your book on book shelves and knowing that you can achieve your dreams, no matter how big they are.


How many books have you written? Which is your favorite?


I have completed four books in the Embrace series and currently working on the fifth. Recently I released a contemporary romance called The Climb, I think this is my favorite. I love the story, the excitement and the characters, it feels very real. I also have a few other stories that will most likely never see the light of day. So in total I'd say I'm at around ten or so.


Do you have any suggestions to help others become better writers?

Research is the key. You need to research facts for your stories, you need to research how to query, publish, and market. Don't get discouraged, it is the best job, but it is a lot of work. Things aren't going to fall in your lap, and your book might suck...but that's okay. Learn from it, take beta readers comments or reviewer comments and learn from it. Work your butt off and follow your dream.


What do you think makes a good story?

I think this is subjective to the reader. I love a story that pulls me in, where I can feel like one of the characters. Where as suspense might be important to the next person. So I guess I would say a good story is one where the author stays true to themselves and their vision. Don't write just because the market wants xyz, write because you want lmnop. The more passion the author puts into a story, the more the reader can feel it.


As a child, what did you want to do when you grew up?

A singer, a nurse, a paramedic, and everything else under the sun. The only problem is I still don't know what I want to be when I grow up.


How did you come up with the idea for Immortal Embrace?


I have always been a huge fan of the supernatural. I wanted something that would bring it all together. I wanted a fictional supernatural story that tied in various parts of history. Little did I know books like Vampire Diaries already did that. Now as I continue on the Embrace adventure, I try to forget about all the other vampire/witch stories out there and just remain true to my characters and their adventure.


Thank you so much for your time, Charlotte. I really loved getting to learn from you, and I'm so excited to read more of your books.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page