top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJ. C. Horton

Hello Everyone!

Updated: Dec 20, 2018

I would love to tell you a little bit about myself and what inspires me every day to write.

I have always wanted to write more than anything else. Even as a two year old child, I would rather write than color or draw even though, I didn't know how to yet. I always thought there was something so special about having a pencil between my fingers.


When It All Started

Inspiration first hit when I was in 4th grade and decided that Catwoman needed a daughter. Looking back now, I know that probably would have landed me in jail for plagiarism, but it was a start.

As I got older, I started getting a love for anything fantasy, something I greatly thank Harry Potter for. That's when I started writing anything I could think of about dragons and witches and any other made of creature I could think of. Let's just say, I have a lot of books just waiting for an ending.


Eternal Series


It was in my Senior year of High School that I finally found a story that I refused to stop until the last paragraph was written. That was when the Eternals were born. I wish I could say I had some great inspiration for these novels, but the truth is, I just couldn't understand how having other people's thoughts in your head all day long would not drive you insane. Once I had my main character, Tessara Knox, I had to find an explanations for her bizarre powers. Before long, the rest had unfolded in my hands.



The hardest thing about writing a book is truly just sticking to it. It's pushing forward, even when you have no idea what to write next. Sometimes, the best parts in a story are the things you never would have thought to write on purpose.

I honestly wish I could say that I plan out every thought before I sit down with pen and paper, but that's just not how I do things. Don't get me wrong, an outline is definitely a need, but I have always found the little detours along the way are best part. And the most fun!


My Hopes For This


What I would like most about writing this blog is to help young writers like myself. I was so afraid of publishing my book, especially with mistakes, that I edited it six or seven times just looking for comma errors. I would love to help you with your writing and getting it published, but I would also love to expose you to other books out that that you don't know about. There are so many great works that are so hard to find on your own just because the book isn't being promoted through a company.


Last but not least, I am the busy mother of a beautiful year and a half year old girl. I will do my best to blog as much as I can.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page